Skip to product information
1 of 10


Grévy's Zebra 25 Cents Eritrea Authentic Coin Money for Jewelry and Craft Making (Liberty Equality Justice)

Grévy's Zebra 25 Cents Eritrea Authentic Coin Money for Jewelry and Craft Making (Liberty Equality Justice)

Regular price $3.60 USD
Regular price Sale price $3.60 USD
Sale Sold out
Taxes included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
I'm Cheaper by the Dozen

Grévy's Zebra 25 Cents Eritrea Authentic Coin Money for Jewelry and Craft Making (Liberty Equality Justice)

Obverse: Soldiers with flag

Reverse: Grevy's Zebra left
Lettering: STATE OF ERITREA 1997

Issuer Eritrea
Period Republic (1993-date)
Type Standard circulation coin
Year 1997
Value 25 Cents
0.25 ERN = 0.017 USD
Currency Nakfa (1997-date)
Composition Nickel plated steel
Weight 5.8 g
Diameter 23 mm
Thickness 2 mm
Shape Round
Orientation Coin alignment ↑↓
Number N# 2404
References KM# 46, Schön# 46

The Grévy's zebra (Equus grevyi), also known as the imperial zebra, is the largest living wild equid and the most threatened of the three species of zebra, the other two being the plains zebra and the mountain zebra. Named after Jules Grévy, it is found in Kenya and Ethiopia. Compared with other zebras, it is tall, has large ears, and its stripes are narrower.

The Grévy's zebra lives in semi-arid grasslands where it feeds on grasses, legumes, and browse; it can survive up to five days without water. It differs from the other zebra species in that it does not live in harems and has few long-lasting social bonds. Stallion territoriality and mother–foal relationships form the basis of the social system of the Grévy's zebra. This zebra is considered to be endangered. Its population has declined from 15,000 to 3,000 since the 1970s. In 2008 the population was reported to be stable.


Eritrea (/ˌɛrɪˈtreɪə, ˌɛrɪˈtriːə/ officially the State of Eritrea, is a country in Eastern Africa, with its capital at Asmara. It is bordered by Ethiopia in the south, Sudan in the west, and Djibouti in the southeast. The northeastern and eastern parts of Eritrea have an extensive coastline along the Red Sea. The nation has a total area of approximately 117,600 km2 (45,406 sq mi), and includes the Dahlak Archipelago and several of the Hanish Islands.

Eritrea is a multi-ethnic country with nine recognized ethnic groups in its population of around six and a half million.[a] Eritrea has nine national languages, which are Tigrinya, Tigre, Afar, Beja, Bilen, Kunama, Nara and Saho. Tigrinya, Arabic, and English serve as the three working languages. Most residents speak languages from the Afroasiatic family, either of the Ethiopian Semitic languages or Cushitic branches. Among these communities, the Tigrinyas make up about 55% of the population, with the Tigre people constituting around 30% of inhabitants. In addition, there are several Nilo-Saharan-speaking Nilotic ethnic groups. Most people in the territory adhere to Christianity or Islam, with a small minority adhering to traditional faiths.

The Kingdom of Aksum, covering much of modern-day Eritrea and northern Ethiopia, was established during the first or second century AD. It adopted Christianity around the middle of the fourth century. In medieval times much of Eritrea fell under the Medri Bahri kingdom, with a smaller region being part of Hamasien. The creation of modern-day Eritrea is a result of the incorporation of independent, distinct kingdoms (for example, Medri Bahri and the Sultanate of Aussa) eventually resulting in the formation of Italian Eritrea. After the defeat of the Italian colonial army in 1942, Eritrea was administered by the British Military Administration until 1952. Following the UN General Assembly decision in 1952, Eritrea would govern itself with a local Eritrean parliament, but for foreign affairs and defense, it would enter into a federal status with Ethiopia for ten years. However, in 1962, the government of Ethiopia annulled the Eritrean parliament and formally annexed Eritrea. The Eritrean secessionist movement organized the Eritrean Liberation Front in 1961 and fought the Eritrean War of Independence until Eritrea gained de facto independence in 1991. Eritrea gained de jure independence in 1993 after an independence referendum.

Eritrea is a unitary one-party presidential republic in which national legislative and presidential elections have never been held.[25][9] Isaias Afwerki has served as President since its official independence in 1993. According to Human Rights Watch, the Eritrean government's human rights record is among the worst in the world. The Eritrean government has dismissed these allegations as politically motivated. Because all local media is state-owned, Eritrea was also ranked as having the third-least press freedom in the global Press Freedom Index, behind North Korea and Turkmenistan.

Eritrea is a member of the African Union, the United Nations, and the Intergovernmental Authority on Development, and is an observer state in the Arab League alongside Brazil and Venezuela.

View full details

Customer Reviews

Based on 4 reviews
Barbara Wynn


Barbara C


Michael T
5 stars review from Michael

5 stars review from Michael

Erin K
5 stars review from Erin

5 stars review from Erin